Snap crackle pop

Yes, I listen to my plants when I water them. I get laughed at for it, but here’s why:

You might hear the occasional snap crackle pop sounds when you add water to the pot. It’s actually a pretty good sign because it means there’s good aeration in the soil. You’re hearing water fill in all those nooks and crannies and drive the air out. When I choose to give a pot a good soak, I usually plug the drainage hole with my thumb, fill the pot with water to the brim and listen for the sound of the crackling to slow down. Then you can remove the plug and let the water drain out. Is the water drains out it will pull fresh air down into the soil in its wake.

Leave a Reply

