Haworthia ‘Grey Ghost’ & Cooperi Truncata (September Succulent Sweept #016-#017)

I’ve been trying to condense my September Succulent Sweep posts because one a day would take forever, but this one might be shorter because it’s been late, I’ve been staring at code for hours, and I need to look at something else before bed so my brain doesn’t fixate on the stress of debugging.   I also am behind on drafting posts ahead of time and scheduling for updating — which I just recently learned how to do and has made it a bit easier to make posts actually happen.

That being said – here’s my haworthia “Grey Ghost”.  It’s very hard to find agreement on which variety of haworthia this actually is, it’s a more common cultivation of a variegated haworthia.

Haworthia Grey Ghost

I acquired this as a small offset at the earlier Midwest Cactus and Succulent show mainly because of a not-for-sale plant I assumed to be the parent plant was quite lovely; that being said I was startled when I went to repot it and found that the little offset I purchased had zero roots whatsoever.  This was my first attempt at completely rerooting an offset, and I was quite pleased when new roots started appearing after just a few days.  It’s not considerably larger, but there’s definitely healthy new growth at the center and overall it looks much better than it did at the start.  I chalk this up to beginner’s luck, and it couldn’t have happened to a more attractive part of the collection.

Would you think this had roots?  You’d be wrong.

Haworthia Cooperi Truncata

As for success stories, this one is a mixed bag. Actually one part of my very first purchase, I acquired two of these with the idea that one would live at the office and one would stay home. I wanted to run an experiment, and this one has primarily lived in gritty mix while the other started live in a more peat/potting soil medium. While both of them suffered a run in early on with an infestation of scale, the one in grit never got infested as badly and recovered more easily – I suspect the pests more successfully burrowed into the potting soil to lay eggs and survived to chew up leaves another day with the alternate plant. That saga lead to the “office” plant’s recent dismemberment; this one I fortunately cleared up and it has thrived. For reasons I’m not sure of (lighting? watering?), this one has gotten substantially more blue. Color changes are typically more associated with stress, so it is most likely a bit of underwatering considering that I think I’m overly conservative with water with the plants in a gritty mix – but it’s still getting larger, has a few offsets coming in, and in general does quite well being shoved into the backrow of my basement shelves under fluorescent lights; and if it’s happy, I’m happy.

I’m fascinated by his offsets – which you see in the back — and how they have such a more vibrant red veining than the mother plant.

Here’s how that little ones looked in the spring of early march.

For comparison – the plant pictured above is the one here on the right.
Leave a Reply

