Haworthia Maughanii & Viscosa (September Succulent Sweep #006-#010)

This haworthia maughanii was a splurge in late spring. I never really documented it’s state when I acquired it, which is sad… because shortly after boasting about how proud I was of it as it’s one of the “Rarer” things in my collection, it took a fast turn for the worse. I might have done damage by being overcautious – I planted it in pure grit and watered ever so sparingly, and I think the roots actually dessicated and died back from being too dry too long. Fortunately, that’s a defense mechanism for drought in nature and they can recover somewhat easily. This one is looking better than it was, but not as good as it did. 🙂

Let’s flash back to these other Haworthias I acquired from Arid Lands back in late March…

The four Arid Lands acquisitions in spring.

And here’s how they are doing now, after being repotted once or twice to correct for problem I had with my original “grit mix” formula.

Haworthia viscosa v. viridissima
Haworthia Nigra v. Nigra
Haworthia Nigra v. Nigra
Haworthia Nigra ('Black Clone')
Haworthia Nigra (Black Clone)
Haworthia Reticulata v. Herlingii
Haworthia Reticulata v. herlingii

The reticulata is the most noticeable change; for a while I joked that if the nigras died, I might never know given how they are kind of black leaved to begin with. Right when I was about to seriously question this rather than joke, the nigra v. nigra spit out a large, large flower stalk… and the black clone started greening up at the center a bit. They may have suffered some root damage after shipping and then suffering in my original potting soil… and taken a while to get re-established; but hopefully they are on their way now. Non-green succulents can be a bit harder to grow as they generally have more demanding requirements on light received and amount of care, but the color and texture of these is so cool I can’t resist having them in my collection.

Besides the growth and greening up of the reticulata, it also is spitting out several pups; I think it will likely not get much larger than it is presently and will most likely just spread and clump. They are supposed to be one of the slower growing species, so it’s kind of humorous to me that of the four this is the one that has most visibly flourished.

Leave a Reply

