The Collection – As of March 2016

Individual glamour shots below the fold. 🙂

Kalanchoe “Panda Plant”
The first plant I added, around Christmas of 2015. I got it to replace a similar plant that Mike had purchased which had then quickly died on us. This one is doing much better than that one had done.

And in this picture, it had just been watered. It definitely is a thirstier plant and tends to suck up water and dry out faster than everything else. It’s been sending out some aerial roots the last week or two, so I figured it was time for a dousing this past weekend.

Haworthia Cooperi v. Truncata x2
Two varieties at the same time that are pot of an ongoing comparison in different growing mediums to see which thrives – or worst case, survives.

Haworthia Cooperi v. Truncata #1: “Home” / “Grit”
One of the plants that tipped me into the succulent collecting craze – when I saw pictures online of these odd water-droplet looking plants. I ordered two, one for home – one for the office – to see which fared better. This quickly turned into an experiment with both at home but one in a peat mix and one in a gritty mix to see which fared better. Both suffered from a few early mistakes – a little sun stressed, and mineral deposits from spraying/misting with city water which mars the leaves.

I was paranoid of root rot since these were my first acquisitions before I had started making my own gritty mix, and was using commercial cactus mix with extra gravel/perlite. When I got around to making gritty mix, I went to repot these and found that there was enough root growth that I decided to only finish the first one and leave the second one alone. This one has one fairly large pup and one or two smaller ones already.

Haworthia Cooperi Truncata #2: “Office” / “Petey”
The second one, in the original potting mix – commercial cactus mix with extra perlite and gravel. And this ramekin is one of the main reasons I have really come to hate perlite. Two small pups coming in, but one or two leaves that had some sun damage. I figured the first plants in my collection would have some potential mishaps.

Echevaria “Lolo”
This was my first echevaria, which came with the cooperi’s. I was drawn to this cultivar for it’s blueish tinge, although mine has greened up a bit more for the winter. I’m hoping that when spring sun gets a bit stronger it will go a bit more blue again. It’s etoliated a little bit since I got it, but still seems pretty happy.

And don’t worry – it’s in a draining plastic liner inside the larger container.

Haworthia Coarctata v. Tenuis
These were so odd that I included them in the order with the Cooperi Truncatas. They are a minature variety of the “spire” haworthias, added on a whim due to their reptilian, Gieger’esque appearance. They probably won’t get much taller than this, but if I’m lucky will pup and spread. They seem to like to be a bit rootbound, and have a few lower damaged leaves that may either be sun stress or damage from the cold during shipping.

I ordered two, and ended up with two pots with two in each — a happy surprise. One from each pot also seem to be starting new pups at the base, so hopefully soon there’s six!

Like the plant above, it’s in a plastic 1-quart draining container sitting inside the larger container I found at a craft store.

Echevaria “Perle von Nuremburg”
A very popular pink/purple variety. When you’re shy on clay saucers, this size of pot fits nicely in a washed out yogurt cup.

Haworthia Cymbiformis “Window Plant”
This guy is a perpetual cause of concern. He wasn’t in the best health when I got him, and his coloration is worrisome. Others from the same greenhouse that coworkers acquired came with root rot already started, and although his roots looked healthy enough when I got him (and then a few weeks later repotted into a more gritty mix) he’s definitely less perky than before – I’m hoping it’s temporary stress from the repotting and that he settles in. He still seems to be sending out a ton of pups – something around eight or nine presently.

Lithops “Living Stones”
In process of splitting to show their new leaves.

Haworthia Limifola
This little guy had to be potted and repotted – he was in the original batch that was commercial mix + perlite with landscape fabric over the drain hole; I had to repot him in grit with drywall tape over the hole because he was draining too slowly, and he already in a few weeks was showing the first signs of root rot. Fortunately he also had signs of new root growth, so after drying him out and trimming up the unhealthy roots I’m hoping for a rebound, but watching cautiously. His original rootball was fairly dense,but it was clean off as best I could and then potted in grit – unfortunately until the new roots extend into the grit he sits a little loosely and every time I bump him he tends to shift up in his pot a little more than I’d like but I’m loathe to disturb him again so soon.

He was also the last plant that went into a painted clay pot before I decided that unpainted terracotta was much safer for me.

Echevaria “Black Prince”
His tips are a little worse for the wear, but overall it’s doing better than I feared for such a dark variety in the winter. He gets a lot more time in the south facing windowsill on sunny days because of his darker color, which may have a bit to do with his tips. I’m still trying to figure out his needs. As a backup, I have two of his lower leaves from when I potted him that I’m currently trying to propagate. I have heard both that they’re one of the easier varieties to clone, and that they’re one of the harder ones to clone. So far, so good though.

This one in particular had an odd extra rosette growing in when it had been moved to this pot, but it was weirdly pointed upside down – and I haven’t seen it surface yet, but it’s winter so…. maybe in a few months?

Echevaria Nodulosa
Pretty sure this rosette was a cutting off a much larger plant judging by the root system when I repotted it, but it’s done well since then.

Echevaria Mystery Seedlings: #1a and #1b
The first two of the seedlings from a “mixed” batch of seeds to be repotted. They were too close and the big one was crowding the little guy out – hence his weird shape – and a few days in they seem to be adapting decently.

I have a few more than are waiting to get a bit larger to get put into pots.

Echevaria Mystery Seedling 1a

Echevaria Mystery Seedling 1b
These are a little heavier on peat and coir, given their youth and the fact that I want to keep them a little more moist for the time being. It’s my first attempt at succulents from seed, and while my germination rates weren’t great so far these seem to be doing pretty well. Aside from this small one that was getting pushed around.

The pots are a mix of normal gritty mix (mostly that at the bottom of the pot) and perlite-amended commercial cactus mix. The extra peat and coir near the top layer was easier to fill in around the edges of the seedling and seemed to help them stay in place a bit more solidly.

“The New Class”
A nice view of the most recent batch to show the varities of sizes. Each one individual below…

??? Gasterhaworthia “Rosava” or Gasteraloe “Flow”
Both the gasteraloe and gasterhaworthia look very similar in online images – so it’s been difficult to positively ID this one. The label simply said “Haworthia species” but given its size and fat leaf shape I’m fairly certain it’s a gasteria hybrid of some sort. I’m hoping it’s truly a haworthia hyrbid and not the gaster-aloe.

Echevaria “Chroma”
With two extra rosettes!

The watermarks on the leaves from top watering came with the plant, and I haven’t really wanted to try to wipe it off with distilled water or anything.

Echevaria “Moranii”
This one, when I repotted it, has a second rosette coming in from just underneath the soil line – in addition the existing rosette looks like it may be a double or has some sort of strange growth pattern happening.

Echevaria “Moranii” – Top View
Same plant, just a top view.

Echevaria “Ramilette”
One of the few I’ve purchased specifically for the flowers, this one has two long flower stalks and two short ones coming in.

Echevaria Purpusorum
A slow growing species I got for it’s haworthia-like appearance.

Echevaria “Neon Breakers”
An unusual cultivar I bought on a whim because it stood out, although now it reminds me of a decorative cabbage. 😉

Propagation Station
And finally, my newly reorganized propagation station – a few leaves from repotting the thing above, a weird broken piece from a variegated crassula that I figured I’d try (but I’m not too hopeful about), plus a few random leaves… (graptopetalum paraguayense, graptopetalum murasaki, sedum adolphii “lime gold” and “golden sedum”, pachysedum “gangzhou”, and a few graptosedum “vera higgins”). So far the echevarias and graptopetalums are showing the most progress rooting, and one pachysedum.

2 thoughts on “The Collection – As of March 2016

  1. My Haworthia cymbiformis was also looking unhealthy when I repotted it, I gave it about 2 hours of sunlight daily and it slowly gets better after a few weeks. I think they are quite slow in their recovery, but they are very sturdy and healthy now! Good luck on yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

