Echevaria ‘Black Prince’ – strange growth indeed!

prince_1.jpg

One of the echevarias I obtained this weekend showed a strange oddity I thought I’d share.  The two new plants I removed from their tiny plastic pots, cleaned off the roots to the best of my ability, twisted off some wilted lower leaves, and have left to dry / callous before being repotted in another day or two.  However, one of them – the “Black Prince” cultivar – had this bit of strangeness.  It looks like an upside down rosette growing just under the soil line!

I’m not sure what to do with this, but I suppose there’s no harm in leaving it.  Should be interesting to find out what it is.  I suspect that both of these new echevarias are actually rooted cuttings off larger plants (judging by the size of the rosettes and the very small root system); I’m not sure if that has anything to do with what’s happening here, but it’s very odd indeed.

prince_2.jpg

Leave a Reply

